The stone bridge crossing the Nadiža gorge dates to around 1812 and stands mute testament to the routes crossing the area since at least the time of Ancient Rome.
Its uniqueness and technical accomplishment make it a precious architectural monument and a memorial to times past.
The bridge used to form part of the ancient route from Pradol and Robidišče along the Nadiža river. According to folk memory the current bridge was constructed by a builder from the village of Čenebola in western Beneška Slovenija. It was built at the time of the French emperor’s conquests, hence its name. Its uniqueness and technical accomplishment make it a precious architectural monument and a memorial to times past
Access to the Nadiža river
To protect the harmony between nature and the numerous visitors in the summertime, the Kobarid municipality has implemented a parking regime by the river Nadiža. A parking fee applies in June, July and August.